Standing in line for A Really Goode Job

AT send me a link to SF Eater yesterday to what seems to be an incredible opportunity for anyone who wants to gain an in depth understanding of the wine industry and break into food and travel/lifestyle writing. Let me rephrase, AT sent me the the link to what seems to be an incredible opportunity for me because he knows I want to learn more about wine and break into food and travel/lifestyle writing.

That is how I found myself at Market street today, standing in line for A Really Goode Job with Murphy-Goode Winery, following the purple trail to my dreams. a really goode job

Here’s the essence of the deal. They will pay the winning candidate to learn about Murphy-Goode and the wine industry and blog about it using various Web 2.0 and social media applications to help market their winery and the Sonoma County Wine Country lifestyle.  I know, I couldn’t believe it either when I read it.  Doesn’t everyone want to get paid to do what they love? It is that simple and it is that complicated.

Subjectivity aside, this is a great marketing hook. The job posting alone has gotten them plenty of publicity as it’s been covered on food blogs and traditional news media. To be sure, it’s obvious the job requires real work as it’s not a sit on your butt and sip wine all day kind of thing. It’s a marketing tool and I’m sure the winery expect results from it, i.e. foot traffic and revenue.  Working for a company and presenting the right brand image takes thought, time, and effort so I imagine their vetting process will be quite rigorous. Here’s to hoping I make the cut.

And I want this…badly. Beyond the 6 month stint, this is what I want to be doing and I don’t want to say I didn’t give it my best effort. So priority #1 in May is to do some recon on Murphy-Goode and wines, and make my winning one-minute video. Who’s up for a day trip to Healdsburg with me for some wine tasting?

One response to “Standing in line for A Really Goode Job

  1. So, you’re ready for the Goode Life, eh?

    It is such a cool idea and I like to think it truely is open to anyone who gives it a good go.

    If you really are interested, then all the best to you and come and give us a shout: The GoodeHopefulls.

    Love to hear from you and get networking! Best wishes,

    Andy Goode Life

Leave a Reply

