Poleng’s grilled edamame

Since I’m trying to work through the contents of my freezer and pantry, I decided to make something out of a package of edamame that’s been sitting in my fridge for a few months.  One of my favorite things to munch on is Poleng Lounge’s delicious grilled edamame with garlic and sea salt. It has a nice smoky flavor and the garlic and salt induces a lot of finger-licking.  I found the recipe on line and it seemed easy enough with minimal ingredients needed.

It took about 10 minutes to make, not including the time it took for me to boil and drain the edamame. Since I don’t have a grill, I tried to replicate the char and the smokiness by quickly sauteing the edamame on high heat. The end is result was somewhat close in flavor to the original although it was slightly oilier than Poleng’s version.  It might be the grill and open flame factor. Next time, I’m probably going to reduce oil to one tablespoon and switch to a nut based oil like walnut.  Vegetable oil sometimes leaves a filmy taste. Still good though. Now if only I wasn’t too lazy to go out and get a beer to go with this. It’s probably a good thing, no need to be writing cover letters under the influence of alcohol.

poleng grilled edamame

6 responses to “Poleng’s grilled edamame

  1. I’d love to know where you found the recipe. I have been working on duplicating this dish for a LONG time!!

  2. Hi,

    Tim Luym of Poleng Lounge shared the recipe a while back. You can click on the link I embedded in the post to get to it. It’s so easy to make.

  3. Hey thanks for the response, but I tried that before I wrote. Looks like the recipe is no longer available on the Asian Chefs site. Any other suggestions?

  4. Here it is from the site, enjoy!

    Grilled Edamame with garlic & sea salt

    1 package edamame with shell on

    2 cloves garlic, minced

    1 T garlic salt

    1 t sea salt (or kosher salt)

    2 T canola or vegetable oil

    In a mixing bowl, toss edamame with oil until coated evenly. Then sprinkle the minced garlic, garlic salt, and sea salt and re-toss until well mixed. On a medium heated grill, place edamame on a metal wire basket and grill until lightly charred and heated through. Place in a bowl and serve immediately with an extra bowl to discard the shells.

  5. Great! Thanks again! Sorry I couldn’t find it, maybe I’m just having a spaz day. Cheers.

  6. Fortunately, I did manage to successfully duplicate these delectable treats. (Someone who worked at Poleng gave me the info.) Sorry it’s been years since I thought to post it, but I will now.
    Place frozen edamame in a bowl, add vegetable oil, garlic powder, and smoked salt. Toss. When the pods are thawed, roast over an open flame, even if it’s your gas stove, until slightly charred. Incredible!

Leave a Reply

